I’m now a “Yahoo!”.

On the first of this year, after four years as an independent contractor, I accepted a full-time job with Yahoo!. This isn’t as big of a change as it sounds. For much of the past four years my work on Nutch had been in-part funded by Yahoo! (and Overture before they were acquired by Yahoo!). I’m still primarily working from home, and, so far, entirely working on open-source stuff: Lucene, Hadoop and Nutch. The biggest change is that I don’t have to draft contracts, submit invoices, etc. I can now instead better focus on the technology and the open-source process.

12 Responses to “I’m now a “Yahoo!”.”

  1. Jérôme Charron Says:

    What a lucky guy you are Doug!!! Be paid to work on Nutch and at home… it is like a dream. Congratulations!

  2. Matt Kangas Says:

    Congratulations! I used to be a “Yahoo” once. We’ll see if I wind up one again. :)

  3. KNNkanda Says:

    Congratuations!
    you dicision is right.
    please change the world more fun via yahoo!

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Doug, have you seen http://sinon.sourceforge.net/? What do you think about it?

  5. Paolo Ferragina Says:

    Ciao Doug,

    it is wonderful to see you at Yahoo!, our streets are crossing again since I’ve got an academic grant from Yahoo for the next three years ;-) Best, Paolo

  6. Anonymous Says:

    Congratulations! bedava mp3

  7. Anjan Bacchu Says:

    Congrats Doug!

    How much time do you devote to Hadoop ?

    Thank you,

    BR,
    ~A

  8. suniljagadish Says:

    Hey Doug, Welcome to Yahoo! :-)

  9. eskary » Blog Archive » Wikia Search lanza la primera versión Says:

    [...] proyecto Apache, y son mantenidos principalmente por su creador, Doug Cutting, que es desde 2006 trabajador de Yahoo!. De hecho, esta empresa es la mayor impulsora de Hadoop a través del ‘clúster M45‘, [...]

  10. XAM Says:

    Ага! Спасибо! Теперь на час есть работа! :)

  11. weight loss programs Says:

    Hello! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so
    I came to look it over. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Outstanding blog and wonderful design.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

